Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

I’m Going to Africa!

Since traveling to Australia and New Zealand in 2000 at the ripe old age of 14, I have been confined to North American soil and hating it. After a non-existent trip to French Polynesia and about 525,600 wistfully-planned, never gonna happen trips (thanks, LivingSocial Escapes,) I have been wanderlusting after every foreign destination that pops up on my daily dose of the Travel Channel. And finally, it’s about to happen.

I am going to Africa.

And this blog will serve as a visual, conversational memoir of everything before, during and after the experience.

My trip revolves around a volunteer project in South Africa that I don’t even want to mention until I’ve gotten all my confirmation stuff in case I jinx it. So for now I’ll just refer to it as volunteer time.

Tentatively, I’ll fly out of Pittsburgh PA and have a 15 hour layover in Paris. (!!!) (In case you were wondering, yes, I planned for that to happen.) The layover is during the day, so I’ll go sightsee a bit, then get back to the airport to leave around 11pm for Port Elizabeth. I’m hoping to stay at the Beachwalk Bed & Breakfast for two nights before getting picked up and transported off to Volunteer Time. After a week volunteering, I’ll stay one more night in PE and have a full day to explore before flying home at 7pm.

My flight back is not nearly as exciting. Five hours in Detroit just doesn’t seem to compare to Paris. Oh, well.

I’ll be updating everything I plan/do, so for anyone reading, suggestions will be readily accepted if you’ve been to any of these places!

3 comments on “I’m Going to Africa!

  1. spiritualworldtraveler
    February 7, 2012

    Wow! How long will you be in Africa? Enjoy! It’s so wonderful to satisfy that travel itch!

    • veggieburgerblogger
      February 7, 2012

      Just about a week and a half. One week volunteering at a cheetah rehabilitation, and a few days on the ends to get a safari or two in! And hopefully a few long layovers along the way 🙂

      • spiritualworldtraveler
        February 7, 2012

        African Safari is definitely on my to do list!!! I’ve been obsessed with African Cats lately. I’m jealous!!! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2012 by in Travel and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

