Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

Shot through the Deltoid, if you’re too late . . .

. . . that’s what i can expect if I get bitten by an animal suspected of carrying rabies.

Intramuscularly.

I’ve been looking up information nearly all day and last night, and everything out there seems quite conflicting. Lots of places say rabies is prevalent in Africa, particularly in the Eastern Cape near Port Elizabeth. On the other hand, another website said that South Africa has a relatively low incidence of rabies. One website doesn’t even recommend getting a rabies shot, and rather discusses diphtheria and typhoid.

Lovely.

The best part about rabies is that if you get bitten, it doesn’t matter if you’ve had a vaccine. You still get two more shots. (Unvaccinateds get five!!!)

I think I’ll go with tetanus-typhoid-rabies.

Regardless of all this talk of needles, I’m still as excited as ever to go.

I’m not however excited about my doctor’s appointment. So unexcited that I haven’t yet scheduled it . . .

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2012 by in Travel and tagged , , , .
