Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

When in South Africa . . .

If you’ve ever read my other blog The F Word, you know how much I love food. So it should come as no surprise that I’m curious excited about the food I’ll be introduced to on this trip. It wasn’t til today, though, as I was chopping herbs and cooking dinner that I realized all the tasty fresh foods I’m so accustomed to may not be available overseas.

So when in South Africa, what do the locals eat?

I’m assuming I’ll be doing at least some of my own cooking – at least according to the project description I received from Khaya. I think food is included, but I would absolutely love to have the opportunity to travel to one of the local food markets and purchase some local specialties to try. I found this list detailing some of the best markets in the country – now I just need to find ones near where I’m staying.

Even if I don’t get the chance to buy my own food for the volunteer trip, I’ll definitely make it a point to check out a few markets in Port Elizabeth.

 

91 days.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2012 by in Food, Travel and tagged , , , , .
