Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

A Brief Setback is Proof that I Can’t Possibly Plan Everything

I guess it takes an occurrence entirely out of my hands to make me realize how unpredictable life and travel can be. Don’t worry, it’s nothing too dramatic, but only hours after deciding my exact flight itinerary, I had to deal with a lost credit card. Nothing charged, so it’s doubtfully stolen, but nonetheless, the inconvenience really comes from not being able to immediately book my flight.

I can’t help but conjure up a thousand problems that will go wrong between now and the new credit card’s arrival that will somehow ruin my trip.

What if the price goes even higher than before? Like, above $1900?

What if I can’t get the flights I want?

What if my 15-hour layover in Paris is eliminated because the flight fills up?

Worse, what if all the flights fill up, and I have no way of getting there?

Of course, with two and a half months between now and Africa, it’s highly unlikely the last “what if” will come to fruition, but it’s still in the back of my mind. Fortunately, I am completely incapable of doing anything to remedy this mess, so all I can do is wait. And while I’ve never been a fan of waiting, this will hopefully teach me a lesson (on the other side of this setback, of course) that things will work themselves out.

And I don’t need to be in control of everything.

4 comments on “A Brief Setback is Proof that I Can’t Possibly Plan Everything

  1. Spiritual World Traveler
    February 17, 2012

    I’m feeling the same right now. I leave for Egypt tomorrow and my husband just totaled our only car. No last minute errands tonight. And how will I get to the airport tomorrow???? UGH!

    • veggieburgerblogger
      February 17, 2012

      OH NO!! Isn’t it weird how stuff like that happens? I’m sure its nothing bad, just a universal reminder that we can’t know everything that is to come. I hope the airport you’re flying out from isn’t too far! At least if it’s close, you can probably bribe a friend or get a somewhat inexpensive taxi.

  2. Spiritual World Traveler
    February 18, 2012

    Everyone I know is out of town or working… I did get a shuttle for $34 including tax and tip. Not bad. I went to the local Publix to weigh my luggage, since I don’t have a scale. I spent this morning re-thinking what I need to bring with me since I was 15 lbs over! LOL Anyway, Egypt, here I come!!!

    • veggieburgerblogger
      February 18, 2012

      Fantastic! Glad everything worked out – $34 may be cheaper than leaving your car somewhere anyway haha. Have a wonderful trip!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
