Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

Africa vs. Europe

Given that I can’t buy my plane ticket for a few more days, I’ve been left with all this time to ponder whether I made the right decision planning a layover in Genoa, Italy. If my dream is to travel to Africa, then why am I so desperate to make a stop in Europe?

I guess part of this has to do with the fact that despite this trip volunteering with cheetahs is an absolute dream come true (think Kristen Bell crying about touching a live sloth,) South Africa is not my dream. When I think of Africa, I think of the Ngorongoro Crater, Mount Kilimanjaro and Victoria Falls. When I dream of Africa, my dream has always been to see Tanzania. And while a lot of that was in order to see a cheetah, which I’ll do in South Africa, Tanzania represents my vision of Africa.

So when I started to question why I was in such a hurry to get out of Africa and add another (European) notch in my belt, I decided to search for alternative layover options in Africa. I had strayed away from Lesotho because of a high incidence in violent crimes and the difficulty in getting from Maseru to Semonkong. I’ve been surprised to find, however, that planning a layover in, well, just about anywhere in Africa is significantly more expensive.

The only exception is northern Africa: I found a flight with a layover stop in Cairo that was priced similarly or lower than the European countries I’ve been looking at. I don’t understand. I was really hoping for maybe an extra hundred dollars to stop in Tanzania and see the Crater, but it was about a $500-$600 difference. I looked at a few other options, like Botswana, Malawi and Gabon. The price difference is at least $300-$400 more than the European countries. If I’m flying from Africa, why is it more expensive to fly to Africa?

I guess I’ll be looking into other ways of traveling that may be cheaper since I can’t book my flight anytime soon, anyway.

8 comments on “Africa vs. Europe

  1. themigrantexperience
    February 18, 2012

    Sounds like an awesome trip in the making!

    I am about to embark on my own trip which includes a long Africa tour. I found a temp job in Uganda and hope to meander on through to South Africa when the job is through.

    Like you, I am feeling a bit nervous (first time to Africa!) but one must just believe that everything is gonna work out great and that the experience will be grand.

    Good luck to you! Maybe we will cross paths in SA!

    • veggieburgerblogger
      February 18, 2012

      Sounds fantastic! How long will you be there? My trip is pretty short, just about a week and a half. I don’t know much about Uganda, but I am sure you will do great! It will be amazing 🙂

    • veggieburgerblogger
      March 17, 2012

      Hm, can’t believe I missed this comment! I swear I get the weirdest comment notifications (and lack thereof.)

      I am sure you will have an awesome experience in Africa, though! What are you doing in Uganda? I just spoke with a woman who worked as a diplomat for many years and traveled both to Uganda and South Africa. What a cool job.

      Anyway. Happy travels!

      • themigrantexperience
        March 18, 2012

        I’ll be helping to make a movie about the children there. Should be eye-opening.

        Yes, a diplomat. That would be something! Safe travels!

      • veggieburgerblogger
        March 18, 2012

        That sounds like an amazing experience. Good luck 🙂

  2. Hindupur Avinash
    February 19, 2012

    I too dream of visiting africa soon.. dunno if it materializes! Have a great time there @ themigrantexpereince and @veggieburgerblogger.!!!
    And nice usernames too. hehe

  3. Hindupur Avinash
    February 19, 2012

    And forgot to say.. your header image looks awesome!! Where did you click that?

    • veggieburgerblogger
      February 19, 2012

      Thank you on both accounts haha! I am sure you will get a chance someday soon. It was such a long process for me – even once I made the decision – but once you get that desire, it doesn’t really go away until it’s fulfilled. I’m afraid it won’t even after my trip lol.

      I got the image at stock.xchng by typing in Africa or South Africa and searching. Sorry I can’t remember more accurately, but they have some really beautiful free stock photos available – especially under the keyword Africa lol.

Leave a Reply

