Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

“Tales of a Female Nomad” – Rita Golden Gelman

So before I even sat down to write today, I came face to face with a flyer for an upcoming event at Malaprop’s Bookstore and Cafe. As the title states, Rita Golden Gelman will be giving a lecture at Malaprop’s discussing her life as a female nomad having traveled and lived with a number of indigenous people across the world. The lecture will also include a discussion on the concept of the Gap Year and her hope that the practice becomes more widespread in the United States.

I’ve already marked my mobile calendar for the event; I can’t wait to find out more. I’ve always wanted to go to lectures, but this will be my first. The problem is, I never find lectures that really interest me. I mostly look into lectures at bookstores, and the unfortunate truth is that I’m not much of a reader. I’m shocked to find a lecture so pertinent to my current situation.

I’m not sure if she’ll cover it (although I’m sure I will ask,) but I’m really interested in the challenges faced by females traveling alone. I want to know how she adapted to the cultures and how safe she felt in various places. I’m not afraid of traveling or being alone, but I am aware that certain risks come with being female and traveling alone. Even little things like the way I dress or gestures I make could be interpreted differently in a culture so different from my own.

I welcome different culture, but I am looking forward to hearing some first-hand experience from someone who was once like me. I hope she talks about her first experience as a solo traveler and how she has sustained her nomadic lifestyle.

If anyone is in the Asheville area, the lecture is at 3pm on March 3rd. It’s a Saturday. At Malaprop’s Bookstore downtown. Here’s the event calendar. Just thought I’d spread the love.

 

Leave a Reply

