Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

Camera Shopping

Yesterday I got to go camera shopping with my dad who is buying me a new digital SLR camera for my trip as a birthday present. It was a bit of a compromise; my dad owns a few really great cameras that he rarely uses which I had been hoping to borrow for the trip. Unfortunately, my dad knows that I have a bad habit of losing things. He’s so worried that I will lose one of his cameras, he’d rather spend the money on a new one. I guess the theory is he won’t worry about it as much because it’s not his. Although chances are, he’ll be using it when I’m not traveling.

Anyway, it was a really crazy experience because I know nothing about cameras and my dad is a bit of a label whore. Well, he just really loves Leica, although he doesn’t necessarily know why. My dad has no qualms about asking people anything, so he ended up talking to a customer at Best Buy about his current camera and what he’s looking to buy. The guy was incredibly helpful – probably more so than the employee.

After Best Buy, we stopped at a local camera shop that my dad frequents. The people there were really friendly, and immediately offered help. We decided to look at the same two models that the customer at Best Buy had told us about, and the employee at YM Camera had lots of information to share with us about both. I decided the best way to get an idea of whether this was the right camera for me was to tell them what I was purchasing it for. It was so fun telling people I didn’t know about my trip. They recommended that I save the money by purchasing the older camera and buying a great macro lens. I got to test out the Tamron 70-300mm lens on the Canon Rebel T3i and I was amazed at how detailed the images can be even from far away – we took a photo of the building across the street and could zoom in to see the lettering on the door in the photo!

I guess I’m new to cameras which is why I’m so excited, but the image quality just blew me away. In my head, all I could see was how the images would look as I zoomed in on a giraffe or a lion while out on safari.

The final decision is to go with the Canon Rebel T2i ($150 cheaper to put towards the lens) along with the Tamron 70-300mm lens. We are going to go pick it up today, and  the employees at YM will let me stop by anytime to have some lessons on how to use it. They even said a month was a perfect amount of time to learn!

Anyway. I hope everyone had a great Easter 🙂 Hopefully I’ll be updating about the car rental situation soon. As soon as I figure out getting an international license!

Leave a Reply

