Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

DMV Disaster

Today has been an emotional roller coaster. I had thought that with all my careful reading of the DMV requirements in North Carolina on their website, it would be a breeze to get my new NC license. Unfortunately, the DMV doesn’t feel the need to update their site with the actual requirements. Or the people at the local DMV don’t follow the actual procedures.

We showed up at the DMV today, hoping to go ahead and take our tests and get our licenses. But, surprise! I was greeted with an unpleasantly jolly old man who told me I’d need 4 documents to proceed.

What? Four?!? The website only mentions that you need proof of citizenship and proof of identity, both of which can be proved with a passport. According to the man, we’d also need a social security card (or a tax form with the number printed on it,) along with proof of residence (a bill in our name or the apartment lease,) and proof of insurance with our name actually on the policy.

Well, that’s five. I’m glad the DMV hires people who can count.

When I tried to argue that the website said a passport was sufficient, he said it wasn’t because my social security wasn’t on it. When we left, we read over the papers, and it does not state anywhere that you need a social security card if you have a government issued document that verifies your citizenship. Ie, a passport. I just about felt like moving in August when our lease is up. Frankly, I still do simply because they don’t even follow their own guidelines in this backwards state. However, after a coffee and a burrito bowl, I calmed down enough to make it over to the Social Security office and request a replacement card. They say it will take 7-10 days to arrive, and I really hope they’re right – or that it’s less.

The only thing I can be happy about is that I will have all this time to sit and study for the two tests (road signs and driving laws) and make sure I pass the first time. If I had any way of just renewing my Georgia license, I absolutely would because this is ridiculous.

I do, however, feel like I’ve accomplished a fair amount of stuff today. My social security card will be in the mail soon (hopefully!) and I finally made some Africa-related clothing purchases at Goodwill. I will hopefully be able to order my plug adapter and travel insurance tonight as well as book my Cape Town hotel.

I’m crossing my fingers that everything falls into place.

One comment on “DMV Disaster

  1. Spiritual World Traveler
    April 29, 2012

    Good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

