Viva L'Afrique!

To Africa and Back

Less Than a Week

So many little last minute things to do, although none of them, fortunately, are actually very time consuming. Most of them, in fact, are just a result of my incessant need for organization. Here’s a quick rundown on what needs to be done before departure:

-Pick up my international driver’s permit (once my license arrives!)

-Pick up my Ciprofloxicin at the pharmacy

-Get my yellow card stamped for my Twinrix vaccine

. . . and of course, PACK.

My neuroticism has led me to make little lists in the journal that I’ll be traveling with. Lists detailing what I need to bring with me – a check means I’ve already purchased it and a line through it means it’s been packed; where to go in Paris, including bus routes and addresses; the hotels and hostels I’ll be staying at along with addresses and contact numbers. I’ve also set to organizing all of my travel documents (travel insurance, passport, passport copy, passport photos, etc.) and locating items I’ll need that I haven’t seen around the house much.

I’m feeling a bit anxious as my travel date looms ahead, but the butterflies are from a long held fear of flying, not of the adventure itself. I am more than ready to experience these places, meet new people, and feel the exhilaration of traveling solo. The only place I feel a bit nervous about is Paris because it will be very odd to be alone, unable to fully understand all the people around me. I have a few years of French lessons under my belt, but it’s very different when you listen to a room full of fluent foreign language speakers. I will be mastering the phrase, “Je parle un peu de Francais,” in hopes that  they will slow down for me as I stumble over unfamiliar words and phrases. However, I plan on communicating in French as much as possible since in my opinion, it would be plain rude to assume that everyone should speak English for me.

Anyway, this was much longer than I intended, but a much needed update in my opinion. Only five days until departure!

2 comments on “Less Than a Week

  1. Spiritual World Traveler
    April 29, 2012

    You’ll be surprised how many people actually speak English in Paris! 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading about your trip!!! Whoo hoo!

    • veggieburgerblogger
      April 29, 2012

      That is good to know! I expect I will pick up some of the French – I usually can when I watch movies and stuff – but I’d like to at least TRY and speak the language 🙂

Leave a Reply

